Screaming Puppy

My puppy Tali is a wonderful dog the majority of the time. That is until it comes to discipline or correction. I knew the breed was very sensitive to hard handling before I even got her so I have been trying my best to be gentle, calm and assertive.

However.

The screaming. Dear god the screaming. If I come at the her wrong way and with even a little tension she squeaks first. I tell her quiet and if I touch her at all after that point it is bloody murder screaming. She screams and screams. She fights and rolls on her back holding my hand with her paws. It is so embarrassing. It sounds like I am killing her and I get all worried that the neighbours think I am beating her. So I hold her mouth shut until she calms down before moving her. 

I am human I will admit I have lost my temper at her because of it. I will not deny that. I have had a family dogs before but this is my first time raising one myself but she screams over the most stupid things. When she is pooping and she gets a dangly or a hair she runs around screaming because of that. Heaven forbid I try to touch her when she is freaking out. Or when I am grooming her at the shop and I tell her to stand up. Not even brushing or doing her nails but standing her up.

It is like she has extreme temper tantrums.

I am at my wits end with it. Please help.

• Caitlin F.