Can't stop eating other dogs' food, puppy

Less than a week after my father brought home a german shepherd puppy, I was unable to leave food out for my second dog, an 8-month-old german shepherd. She's not the kind of dog who would get defensive over food; in fact, the cat has tried stealing nibbles here and there, and she wouldn't mind. That was our old pattern. I would give her food, and she could eat some whenever she pleased. However, now that I feed both the puppy and my dog, the puppy finishes her meal and then takes what was meant for my dog! However, once I leave after trying for hours to persuade her to let go of the leash and feed my dog later, the puppy has already started eating the food. Being a college student, I usually fed my dog before I left for class, but I no longer have that confidence. I've reached the stage where I've noticed my dog has become skinnier, and I believe it has something to do with the way she eats her food. Any suggestions would be useful.

• James C.

It sounds like you're facing a challenging situation with your new German Shepherd puppy and your older dog. It's not uncommon for puppies to be eager eaters and sometimes steal food from other pets. One solution could be to feed your older dog in a separate room or area where the puppy can't access the food. You could also try feeding them at different times, so the puppy finishes eating before you leave. It's essential to monitor your older dog's weight and behavior closely and consult with a vet if you're concerned about her health. Additionally, training the puppy to understand mealtime boundaries may help in the long run.

• Kennel Y.

Oh, the struggles of a canine food heist! It sounds like you're dealing with quite the culinary caper at your place. The puppy's become a master thief, snatching away your second dog's meal like a furry food ninja. But fear not, dear college student! I come bearing suggestions to restore peace to your pup's mealtime kingdom.